Initiated by members of the U.S. House of Representatives in 1982, the Congressional Art Competition is a nationwide annual art competition that allows high school students from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and territories to showcase their artistic ability. WVIA is proud to host the qualification for Congressmen Lou Barletta, Tom Marino and Matt Cartwright for the 10th, 11th and 17th Congressional Districts.

Each winner and his/her immediate family will travel to Washington, DC for the Artistic Discovery Exhibition Opening where they will have their artwork displayed for one year in our nation’s Capitol building. Travel accommodations are supplied by WVIA Public Media. Plus, the first place student from each district will be featured on Artwork will be on display at Mainstreet Gallery in Kingston throughout the month of April, with an opening reception April 10.

Artwork will be accepted at the WVIA Studios in Pittston, PA or Mainstreet Gallery in Kingston, PA during normal business hours (Weekdays 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.). Artwork must be submitted by Wednesday, March 25, 2015 and must be matted, but does not have to be framed. To be eligible for the Congressional Arts Competition the high school student must reside in the district represented by Congressmen Lou Barletta, Tom Marino or Matt Cartwright (PA 10th, 11th or 17th).

Students MUST HAVE TWO copies of the consent/release/submission form from the competition, with ONE copy ATTACHED to the back of their piece.   

Winning artwork will be displayed at the United States Capitol for the entire year, and cannot be returned to students earlier. Students, therefore, should submit artwork they will not need for other purposes.

Important documents for the 2014 Congressional Arts competition


Winners from Previous Years

2013 Winners: Julie Reiutort of Lake Ariel (District 10 winner), Deanna Dinelli of Nanticoke (District 11 winner), and Angela Kelly of Dunmore (District 17 winner)

2012 Winners: Amanda Martin of Dallas (District 10 winner) and Zachary Wood of Edwardsville (District 11 winner) 

2011 Winners: Abby Carmody of Waymart (District 10 winner) and Zachary Wood of Edwardsville (District 11 winner)

2010 Winners: Laura Madiera of Dallas (District 10 winner) and Corrinne Remetta of Dunmore (District 11 winner)


If you have an questions about the WVIA Education Program, please contact WVIA's Director of Education

Andrea O'Neill


Support for WVIA's Education provided by