100 WVIA Way
Pittston, PA 18640

Phone: 570-826-6144
Fax: 570-655-1180

Copyright © 2022 WVIA, all rights reserved. WVIA is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

No major changes in state races

Yard sign directing people to vote on Midterm Election Day 2022
Yard sign directing people to vote on Midterm Election Day 2022

On Tuesday, 79 candidates vied for 43 seats in the state general assembly representing areas of 21 counties serving Northeastern and Central Pennsylvania.

There were no major upsets in local races for state seats during the midterm election — 28 incumbents won additional terms and 15 new legislators will represent their regions — although some contests were close, a WVIA News analysis found. Three Democrats and three Republicans will serve in the state senate; and 13 Democrats and 24 Republicans will serve in the state house, representing the region.

The counties include: Bradford, Carbon, Clinton, Columbia, Lackawanna, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Monroe, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Wayne and Wyoming.

State senators serve four-year terms and members of the state house serve two-year terms.

The annual salaries of legislators in both chambers is $95,432.

The local winners, according to unofficial results, and the areas they serve are:

State Senate:
(D = Democrat R = Republican I = Incumbent)

District 14 (Lehigh and Northampton): Nick Miller, D

District 16 (Lehigh): Jarrett Coleman, R

District 18 (Northampton): Lisa Boscola (I), D

District 20 (Luzerne, Pike, Susquehanna, Wayne and Wyoming): Lisa Baker (I), R

District 22 (Lackawanna and Luzerne): Marty Flynn (I), D

District 40 (Lackawanna and Monroe): Rosemary Brown, R

State House:
(D = Democrat R = Republican I = Incumbent)

District 22 (Lehigh): Joshua Siegel, D

District 68 (Bradford and Tioga): Clint Owlett (I), R

District 76 (Union and Clinton): Stephanie Borowicz (I), R

District 83 (Lycoming and Union): Jamie Flick, R

District 84 (Lycoming and Sullivan): Joe Hamm (I), R

District 85 (Snyder and Union): David Rowe (I), R

District 107 (Montour, Northumberland and Schuylkill): Joanne Stehr, R

District 108 (Montour and Northumberland): Lynda Schlegel Culver (I), R

District 109 (Columbia): Robert Leadbeter, R

District 110 (Bradford and Wyoming): Tina Pickett (I), R

District 111 (Susquehanna and Wayne): Jonathan Fritz (I), R

District 112 (Lackawanna): Kyle Mullins (I), D

District 113 (Lackawanna): Kyle Donahue, D

District 114 (Lackawanna): Bridget Malloy Kosierowski (I), D

District 115 (Monroe): Maureen Madden (I), D

District 116 (Luzerne and Schuylkill): Dane Watro Jr., R

District 117 (Luzerne): Michael Cabell, R

District 118 (Lackawanna and Luzerne): James Haddock, D

District 119 (Luzerne): Alec Ryncavage, R

District 120 (Luzerne): Aaron Kaufer (I), R

District 121 (Luzerne): Eddie Day Pashinski (I), D

District 122 (Carbon): Doyle Heffley (I), R

District 123 (Schuylkill): Tim Twardzik (I), R

District 124 (Schuylkill): James Barton, R

District 131 (Lehigh and Northampton): Milou Mackenzie (I), R

District 132 (Lehigh): Michael Schlossberg (I), D

District 133 (Lehigh): Jeanne McNeill (I), D

District 134 (Lehigh): Peter Schweyer (I), D

District 135 (Northampton): Steve Samuelson (I), D

District 136 (Northampton): Robert Freeman (I), D

District 137 (Northampton): Joe Emrick (I), R

District 138 (Northampton): Ann Flood (I), R

District 139 (Pike and Wayne): Joseph Adams, R

District 176 (Monroe): Jack Rader (I), R

District 183 (Lehigh and Northampton): Zachary Mako (I), R

District 187 (Lehigh): Ryan Mackenzie (I), R

District 189 (Pike and Monroe): Tarah Probst, D

Kat Bolus is the community reporter for the newly-formed WVIA News Team. She is a former reporter and columnist at The Times-Tribune, a Scrantonian and cat mom.
Related Stories